​The BIOPAC Biobank was established in July 2008 through nationwide collaboration between Departments of Oncology, Clinical Biochemistry and Pathology in Denmark.

​By October 8th, 2017, seven hospitals from all parts of Denmark, Rigshospitalet, North Denmark Regional Hospital, Copenhagen University Hospital in Herlev, Zealand University Hospital in Roskilde and Næstved, Odense University Hospital, Aalborg University Hospital, and Hospital Lillebaelt in Vejle - participate in the BIOPAC study.